WWE Royal Rumble (1/27/2019) Play By Play Coveage

WrestleNewz brings you live play-by-play coverage, results and viewing party for tonight’s WWE Royal Rumble pay-per-view broadcast. Kick-off starts at 5 PM EST and the main show begins at 7 PM EST on WWE Network. Be sure to tweet and follow @wrestlenewz on Twitter. There are several title matches that feature superstars from RAW and SmackDown. Pus, the road to WrestleMania 35 begins as their a pair of Rumble Matches to see who gets a title shot at the biggest show of the year. Lots at stake tonight!


Rezar & Scott Dawson vs. Bobby Roode & Chad Gable

Bonus match to start the show and a strange pairing of Rezar and Scott Dawson, who do not have the best chemistry. Chad Gable has lots of problems trying to get the tag. The tag happens and then there’s miscommunication on Rezar and Dawson. Roode and Gable get the victory with the neck breaker moonsault combo on Dawson.

Winners: Bobby Roode & Chad Gable

United States Championship: Rusev vs. Shinsuke Nakamura

Nakamura won the Rumble Match last year and is now working the pre-show. A triangle choke from Nakamura and it appears Rusev tapped, but the referee doesn’t call for the bell. Nakamura removes the turnbuckle pad and Lana is yelling at him on the apron. Rusev accidentally knocks Lana off the apron and she grabs her ankle. Nakamura hits the finisher to become a two time champion.

Winner: Shinsuke Nakamura to become the new United States Champion

Fatal Four-Way Match for the WWE Cruiserweight Championship: Buddy Murphy vs. Akira Tozawa vs. Hideo Itami vs. Kalisto

Another pay per view and another Cruiserweight Championship match on the pre-show. Bunch of crazy spots on the apron like Kalisto sending Tozawa flying onto Murphy. Then there’s Murphy tying to power bomb Kalisto, but Tozawa with a suicide dive and that Kalisto turns the momentum into a hurricanrana to send Murphy head-first into the barricade. Tons of big spots from everyone. Murphy uses double knees to take care of Tozawa and Kalisto. He uses Murphy’s Law to pin Itami.

Winner: Buddy Murphy to remain Cruiserweight Champion

Mentioned in this article:

More About: