The phrase “And New” surrounded UFC 285 Saturday night, as Jon Jones and Alexa Grasso walked away with titles.

Jones was the favorite coming into the main event, and the former light heavyweight champion held firm, submitting Ciryl Gane in the first round. With the win, “Bones” claimed the vacant heavyweight title.

After sitting on the sidelines for over three years, the 35-year-old Jones showed no signs of rust. He quickly closed the gap on Gane, ending the fight early to improve to 27-1.

The co-main event, though, provided a shocker, as Grasso submitted long-time female flyweight champion Valentina Shevchenko. Grasso locked up a face crank in the fourth round with just seconds left.

Shavkat Rakhmonov, Mateusz Gamrot and Bo Nickal were all main card winners.

On the prelims, former champion Cody Garbrandt earned a decision over Trevin Jones. Dricus du Plessis, Amanda Ribas, Marc-Andre Barriault, Ian Garry, Cameron Saaiman, Tabatha Ricci, Farid Basharat and Loik Radzhabov were all winners.

UFC 285 Results

Jon Jones def. Ciryl Gane via submission (guillotine choke) at 2:04 of Round 1 to become heavyweight champion

Alexa Grasso def. Valentina Shevchenko via submission (face crank) at 4:34 of Round 4 to become flyweight champion

Shavkat Rakhmonov def. Geoff Neal via submission (rear-naked choke) at 4:17 of Round 3

Mateusz Gamrot def. Jalin Turner via split decision

Bo Nickal def. Jamie Pickett via submission (arm-triangle choke) at 2:54 of Round 1

Cody Garbrandt def. Trevin Jones via unanimous decision

Driscus du Plessis def. Derek Brunson via TKO (corner stoppage) at 4:59 of Round 2

Amanda Ribas def. Viviane Araujo via unanimous decision

Marc-Andre Barriault def. Julian Marquez via TKO (strikes) at 4:12 of Round 2

Ian Garry def. Song Kenan via TKO (strikes) at 4:22 of Round 3

Cameron Saaiman def. Leomana Martinez via majority decision

Tabatha Ricci def. Jessica Penne via submission (armbar) at 2:14 of Round 2

Farid Basharat def. Da’Mon Blackshear via unanimous decision

Loik Radzhabov def. Esteban Ribovics via unanimous decision

Mentioned in this article:

More About: