UFC 270 Results: Francis Ngannou Takes Down Ciryl Gane

UFC 270 featured a pair of title fights, with Francis Ngannou claiming the unified heavyweight championship.

To the surprise of many, Francis Ngannou and Ciryl Gane went the distance at UFC 270 Saturday night.

After five hard-fought rounds of action, it was Ngannou walking out of the Honda Center unified heavyweight champion. 

Gane was in control early on after weathering a powerful offensive attack from Ngannou. In the later rounds, though, Ngannou showcased some new-found wrestling skills, grinding on Gane. 

In the co-main event, Deiveson Figueiredo reclaimed the flyweight title from Brandon Moreno. After a draw in the first meeting, Moreno won the belt with a finish. 

This time, it was Figueiredo earning a decision, sweeping all three scorecards. 

Both fighters showcased their best skills against the other throughout the incredible 25-minute battle. 

The two stood toe-to-toe to end the fight, trading blows for the final 20-plus seconds. 

Michel Pereira, Said Nurmagomedov and Michael Morales all scored main card victories.

Pereira earned a decision over Andre Fialho, Nurmagomedob submitted Cody Stamman and Morales finished Trevin Giles.

On the prelims, Victor Henry, Jack Della Maddalena, Tony Gravely and Matt Frevola picked up wins on ESPN. Vanessa Demopoulos and Jasmine Jasudavicius were early prelim winners as well.

UFC 270 Results

Francis Ngannou def. Ciryl Gane via unanimous decision to become the unified UFC heavyweight champion

Deiveson Figueiredo def. Brandon Moreno via unanimous decision to become the UFC flyweight champion

Michel Pereira def. Andre Fialho via unanimous decision

Said Nurmagomedov def. Cody Stamman via submission (guillotine choke) at :47 of Round 1

Michael Morales def. Trevin Giles via TKO (strikes) at 4:06 of Round 1

VIctor Henry def. Raoni Barcelos via unanimous decision

Jack Della Maddalena def. Pete Rodriguez via TKO (strikes) at 2:59 of Round 1

Tony Gravely def. Saimon Oliveira via unanimous decision

Matt Frevola def. Genaro Valdez via TKO (strikes) at 3:15 of Round 1

Vanessa Demopoulos def. Silvana Gomez Juarez via submission (armbar) at 2:25 of Round 1

Jasmine Jasudavicius def. Kay Hansen via unanimous decision

  • Categories

  • Leave a Comment