UFC Vegas 21: Main Event Ends After Accidental Eye Poke

An accidental eye poke put an end to the UFC Vegas 21 main event between Leon Edwards and Belal Muhammad Saturday night.

Last week, it was an illegal knee that ended a championship fight early. On Saturday at UFC Vegas 21, an accidental eye poke stopped the main event.

Leon Edwards and Belal Muhammad were just getting into the second round when Muhammad caught a finger to the right eye. He immediately reacted, and soon after, the bout was stopped.

Edwards vs. Muhammad was declared a no-contest from the UFC Apex in Las Vegas. The entire card streamed live on ESPN+.

It was a disappointing ending for both fighters, as they were looking to make their mark in the red-hot welterweight division.

In the co-main event a string of finishes saw Ryan Spann stop Misha Cirkunov in the first round. That came on the heels of a knockout by Dan Ige and another KO victory for Davey Grant.

Ige finished Gavin Tucker in just 22 seconds and Grant the same to Jonathan Martinez in the second round.

Matheus Nicolau bested Manel Kape and Eryk Anders-Darren Stewart was declared a no-contest due to an illegal knee.

On the prelims, Angela Hill, Charles Jourdain, Rani Yahya, Nasrat Haqparast, JJ Aldrich, Jinh Yu Frey and Matthew Semelsberger were all winners.

Spann, Ige, Grant and Semelsberger picked up “Performance of the Night” bonuses and an additional $50,000.

UFC Vegas 21 Results

Leon Edwards vs. Belal Muhammad declared a no-contest (accidental eye poke) at :18 of Round 2

Ryan Spann def. Misha Cirkunov via TKO (strikes) at 1:11 of Round 2

Dan Ige def. Gavin Tucker via KO (strike) at :22 of Round 1

Davey Grant def. Jonathan Martinez via KO (strike) at 3:03 of Round 2

Matheus Nicolau def. Manel Kape via split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)

Eryk Anders vs. Darren Stewart declared a no-contest (illegal knee) at 4:37 of Round 1

Angela Hill def. Ashley Yoder via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Charles Jourdain def. Marcelo Rojo via TKO (strikes) at 4:31 of Round 3

Rani Yahya def. Ray Rodriguez via submission (arm-triangle choke) at 3:09 of Round 2

Nasrat Haqparast def. Rafa Garcia via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

JJ Aldrich def. Cortney Casey via split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)

Jinh Yu Frey def. Gloria de Paula via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Matthew Semelsberger def. Jason Witt via KO (strike) at :16 of Round 1

  • Categories

  • Leave a Comment