Douglas Lima

One man ruled the Bellator welterweight division for years, and that man was Ben Askren.

However, Askren eventually left without losing the title, signing with ONE Championship.

Douglas Lima rose to the top, winning the belt three times since that time including a current run atop the weight class.

Douglas Lima

A three-time Bellator welterweight champion, Douglas Lima started his most recent run bak on October 26, 2019 at Bellator 232 with a victory over Rory MacDonald.

Lima also won the title in 2016 vs. Andrey Koreshkov, holding it for 437 days. He earned a successful defense vs. Lorezn Larkin during that time.

In 2014, Lima topped Rick Hawn at Bellator 117 to win the vacant title, holding it for 455 days.

Rory MacDonald

At Bellator 192 on January 20, 2018, Rory MacDonald finally broke through to the top.

The long-time UFC contender downed Douglas Lima to win his first world title. MacDonald would hold it for 644 days, scoring a defense vs. Neiman Gracie while also retaining with a draw vs. Jon Fitch.

Andrey Koreshkov

For over a year, Andrey Koreshkov was the welterweight champion in Bellator.

Koreshkov won the title with a victory over Douglas Lima at Bellator 140 on July 17, 2015, earning a defense with a surprising win vs. former UFC champion Benson Henderson in 2016.

His reign would be ended by Lima in a rematch in 2016 at Bellator 164 in Tel Aviv.

Ben Askren

“Funky” Ben Askren was No. 1 in Bellator for years, holding the welterweight strap for 1,120 days.

Askren won the title from Lyman Good in Philadelphia at Bellator 33 on October 21, 2010. He would defend it four times before leaving for ONE Championship in 2013.

Those who came up short vs. Askren for the belt included Jay Hieron, Douglas Lima, Karl Amoussou and Andrey Koreshkov.

Lyman Good

The first-ever Bellator welterweight champion, Lyman Good won the title in a tournament finale over Omar de la Cruz at Bellator 11 on June 12, 2009.

Good would never defend the title, holding it for 485 days before falling to Ben Askren in 2010.

Mentioned in this article:

More About: