Counting Down The Decade In The UFC: 2017-2019

Relive the final three years from the action inside the Octagon as we look back at the best of the best from 2017, 2018 and 2019.

The final three years of the UFC this decade brought with it plenty of interesting moments inside the Octagon.

The rise of Jorge Masvidal, new champions being crowned and the return of Conor McGregor were all among the key times over the past three years.

We have already counted down from 2010-2016 on The Mix, so check out the final three years featuring 2017, 2018 and 2019 in the videos below.

UFC Decade In Review: 2017

Twenty title fights highlighted the year, as over 450 bouts were completed on 39 cards.

Among those 20 title bouts, just three reigning champions were defeated.

We saw the rise of Cris Cyborg in the UFC, as she became a champion and defended her belt over former titleholder Holly Holm. A female flyweight champion was crowned in Nicco Montano and Rose Namajunas ended the run of Joanna Jedrzejzyk.

Also, Georges St-Pierre returned and won the middleweight title, joining elite company in being a two-division world champion.

UFC Decade In Review: 2018

The UFC celebrated 25 years hosting events in November of 2018, returning to Denver – the site of UFC 1.

Daniel Cormier made history, as the light heavyweight champion claimed the UFC heavyweight belt by stopping the incredible run of Stipe Miocic in the division.

Amanda Nunes also made history, as she won the women’s featherweight crown to go along with her bantamweight belt.

And Conor McGregor returned, falling to Khabib Nurmagomedov. The year ended with Jon Jones back atop the light heavyweight division.

UFC Decade In Review: 2019

That leads us to the past 12 months and 2019.

A total of 517 bouts, including 19 title fights, took place over 42 planned cards – with one being cancelled.

We saw the end for several, as Cain Velasquez, Alexander Gustafsson and Ben Askren were among those to retire.

New champions like Kamaru Usman, Israel Adesanya and Jessica Andrade were crowned, while Henry Cejudo became a two-division champion.

We concluded the year with Khabib Nurmagomedov unifying the lightweight titles, Stipe Miocic winning back the heavyweight belt and Usman silencing Colby Covington.

  • Categories

  • Leave a Comment