Countdown The Decade In The UFC: 2010-2013

Relive the best moments from 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 in the UFC in these special videos released by the promotion featuring the top names.

The early stages of the decade brought some of the highs of highest the UFC has ever seen.

It all started on 2010 with Anderson Silva’s incredible fifth-round submission victory over Chael Sonnen. What might have happened at UFC 117 had Sonnen avoided the submission and became champion? We will never know.

Frankie Edgar bested BJ Penn – twice – for the lightweight title, Brock Lesnar held the heavyweight belt and Georges St-Pierre was still king of the welterweights.

Of note, 24 total events were held in the UFC in 2010 including 10 title fights and 255 fights overall.

UFC Decade In Review: 2010

A year later, we saw 13 title fights and 300 total bouts spread over 27 cards as 2011 brought us the rise of Jon Jones.

Jones won his first light heavyweight title, stepping in for then-teammate Rashad Evans at UFC 128 and finishing Mauricio “Shogun” Rua. Again, much like 2010, what might have happened had Evans not been hurt and Jones’ title shot delayed?

Jones, Dominick Cruz, Jose Aldo and Frankie Edgar all controlled their divisions, with Anderson Silva still remaining the best middleweight in the world.

UFC Decade In Review: 2011

We start to see the climb in terms of fights and cards in 2012, as 32 events – once cancelled – took place with 341 bouts overall and 13 title fights.

Demetrious Johnson became the first-ever flyweight champion, Jose Aldo remained atop the featherweight world and Benson Henderson rose to the top of the lightweight ranks.

UFC Decade In Review: 2012

Plain and simply, 2013 would be the year of Ronda Rousey’s arrival.

Rousey and Liz Carmouche served in the first female main event at UFC 157, with Rousey successfully retaining her bantamweight title. That kick-started an incredible run that has witnessed the birth of women’s MMA.

A total of 19 title fights and 386 bouts were contested over 33 cards.

While champions like Jon Jones, Georges St-Pierre and Jose Aldo retained their titles, the end of Anderson Silva’s run at middleweight came at the hands of Chris Weidman.

We would also see the last of GSP for several years after his successful defense vs. Johny Hendricks.

Oh, and that guy named Conor McGregor debuted in 2013 too inside the Octagon.

UFC Decade In Review: 2013

  • Categories

  • Leave a Comment