Bellator 232 Results: Douglas Lima Becomes Champion, Millionaire

Douglas Lima secured his third reign as Bellator welterweight champion, besting Rory MacDonald in the grand prix finals at Bellator 232.

Douglas Lima walked out of Bellator 232 with the welterweight title and a check for $1 million. Lima bested Rory MacDonald in the Bellator Welterweight World Grand Prix finals.

For Lima, it marks his third time holding the Bellator welterweight title. He earned this one by scoring a five-round decision over MacDonald.

The 31-year-old Lima went through former champion Andrey Koreshkov and Michael Page to reach the finals. His last loss came to MacDonald in early 2018 via decision in his second title defense.

Bellator 232 Full Card Highlights

MacDonald battled Jon Fitch to a draw, advancing in the quarterfinals of the grand prix. In the semis, he defeated Neiman Gracie.

Paul Daley picked up a second round TKO victory over Saad Awad in the co-main event. The fight was stopped 90 seconds into the round.

Patrick Mix remained unbeaten with a first round submission over Isaiah Chapman. Also, Manny Muro earned a split decision over Nick Newell.

The main card kicked off with “Baby Slice” Kevin Ferguson Jr. finishing Craig Campbell in just 38 seconds.

Bellator 232: MacDonald Vs. Lima 2 Results

Douglas Lima (32-7) defeated Rory MacDonald (21-6-1) via unanimous decision (49-46, 50-45, 50-45)

Paul Daley (42-17-2) defeated Saad Awad (23-13) via TKO (punches) at 1:30 of round two

Patrick Mix (12-0) defeated Isaiah Chapman (9-4) via submission (kneebar) at 3:49 of round one

Manny Muro (11-6) defeated Nick Newell (16-3) via split decision (29-28, 27-29, 29-28)

Baby Slice (4-2) defeated Craig Campbell (3-4) via TKO (elbows) at 0:38 of round one

Ryan Hardy Evans (1-1) defeated Demetrios Plaza (1-1) via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:03 of round three

Lance Gibson Jr. (3-0) defeated Dominic Jones (2-2) via KO (punches) at 1:58 of round one

Devin Powell (10-4) defeated Marcus Surin (6-2) via technical submission (mounted guillotine) at 5:00 of round two

Johnny Lopez (12-4) defeated Dan Cormier (8-10) via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)

Jornel Lugo (3-0) defeated John Douma (4-2) via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)

Zarrukh Adashev (3-1) defeated Tevin Dyce (3-2) via TKO (strikes) at 1:39 of round two

  • Categories

  • Leave a Comment