UFC Fight Night 143 Results: Henry Cejudo Destroys TJ Dillashaw

UFC flyweight champion Henry Cejudo knew the pressure on his shoulders Saturday night at UFC Fight Night 143.

And Cejudo delivered.

Cejudo absolutely destroyed bantamweight champion TJ Dillashaw in the first event as part of the ESPN contract, finishing him inside of the first minute of the opening round. After connecting right out of the gates, Cejudo landed once more to force the stoppage.

In the co-main event, Allen Crowder earned a victory via disqualification after Greg Hardy landed an illegal knee. Hardy, a former all-pro NFL player, was making his Octagon debut.

Gregor Gillespie served further notice to the lightweight division, remaining perfect with a second round TKO over Yancy Medeiros. Gillespie has now won his last five UFC fights via stoppage. Joseph Benavidez picked up a decision victory over Dustin Ortiz, sweeping the scorecards with three matching 29-28s.

Paige VanZant made a triumphant return to the Octagon, locking in an armbar for a second round submission win vs. Rachael Ostovich. Former UFC title contender Glover Teixeira took care of short-notice replacement Karl Roberson, securing an arm-triangle choke in the first round.

Donald Cerrone capped off the ESPN prelims by knocking out Alexander Hernandez with a head-kick. Cerrone called out former UFC champion Conor McGregor after his performance.

Joanne Calderwood bested Ariane Lipski, Alonzo Menifield stopped Vinicius Moreira and Cory Sandhagen submitted Mario Bautista.

In the first-ever fight on ESPN+, Chance Rencountre submitted Kyle Stewart with a rear-naked choke in the first round. Geoff Neal followed with a decision over Belal Muhammad and Dennis Bermudez won his retirement fight via decision vs. Te Edwards.

Complete results are below:

Henry Cejudo def. T.J. Dillashaw via TKO (strikes) at :32 of Round 1 to remain UFC flyweight champion

Allen Crowder def. Greg Hardy via DQ (illegal knee) at 2:28 of Round 2

Gregor Gillespie def. Yancy Medeiros via TKO (strikes) at 4:59 of Round 2

Joseph Benavidez def. Dustin Ortiz via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Paige VanZant def. Rachael Ostovich via submission (armbar) at 1:50 of Round 2

Glover Teixeira def. Karl Roberson via submission (arm-triangle choke) at 3:21 of Round 1

Donald Cerrone def. Alexander Hernandez via KO (head-kick) at 3:43 of Round 2

Joanne Calderwood def. Ariane Lipski via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-27)

Alonzo Menifield def. Vinicius Moreira via TKO (strikes) at 3:56 of Round 1

Cory Sandhagen def. Mario Bautista via submission (armbar) at 3:31 of Round 1

Dennis Bermudez def. Te Edwards via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-26)

Geoff Neal def. Belal Muhammad via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)

Chance Rencountre def. Kyle Stewart via submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:25 of Round 1

  • Categories

  • Leave a Comment