The UFC started off February with a late-night event, as UFC Fight Night 218 took place. The action aired live on ESPN+ from the UFC Apex in Las Vegas.

Sergey Spivak took out his biggest challenge to date, submitting Derrick Lewis in the first round. The heavyweight landed an early shot and pounced, dragging Lewis to the mat multiple times before securing the submission.

The 28-year-old moved to 16-3 in his career and picked up his third consecutive finish, with this being his seventh UFC victory overall.

In the co-main event, Jung Da-un and Devin Clark battled for 15 minutes in the light heavyweight division, with Clark being declared the winner in the end. The veteran sealed the deal with a takedown in the final seconds of the match.

Heavyweights were also part of the other action, as Marcin Tybura bested Blagoy Ivanov via decision. Choi Doo-ho and Kyle Nelson battled to a majority draw in a featherweight scrap.

Adam Fugitt kicked off the main card with an impressive first round finish of Yusaku Kinoshita.

The finals in the Road to UFC Tournament were part of the prelims, as Anshul Jubli, Lee Jeong-yeong, Rinya Nakamura and Park Hyin-sung were victorious. The tournament featured fighters from Asia competing for UFC contracts.

Also, Laura Sanko made history, becoming the first female color commentator on a UFC event in the modern era.

UFC Fight Night 218 Results

Sergey Spivak def. Derrick Lewis via submission (arm-triangle choke) at 3:04 of Round 1

Devin Clark def. Choi Doo-ho via unanimous decision

Marcin Tybura def. Blagoy Ivanov via unanimous decision

Choi Doo-ho vs. Kyle Nelson declared a majority draw

Adam Fugitt def. Yusaku Kinoshita via TKO (strikes) at 4:36 of Round 1

Anshul Jubli def. Jeka Saragih via TKO (strikes) at 3:44 of Round 2

Lee Jeong-yeong def. Yi Zha via split decision

Rinya Nakamura def. Toshiomi Kazama via KO (strike) at :33 of Round 1

Park Hyun-sung def. Choi Seung-guk via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:11 of Round 3

Park Jun-yong def. Denis Tiuliulin via technical submission (rear-naked choke) at 4:05 of Round 1

Tatsuro Taira def. Jesus Santos Aguilar via submission (triangle armbar) at 4:20 of Round 1

Mentioned in this article:

More About: