Julianna Pena promised to steal the show at UFC 269.

And she delivered.

The former Ultimate Fighter winner ended the reign of Amanda Nunes as bantamweight champion Saturday night. 

Pena scored a second round submission over Nunes when she locked in a rear-naked choke. The double-double champion had been unbeaten since 2014, but now only holds the featherweight title.

In the main event, Charles Oliveira overcame a tough first round to submit Dustin Poirier.

Oliveira closed 2021 and retained his lightweight title when he locked in a rear-naked choke in the third. 

Kai Kara-France stunned former champion Cody Garbrandt, finishing him in the first round. Sean O’Malley remained a contender at bantamweight with a first round finish of his own over Raulian Paiva.

Geoff Neal scored a split decision over Santiago Ponzinibbio in a welterweight contest on the main card as well.

On the prelims, Josh Emmett, former champion Dominick Cruz, Tai Tuivasa, Bruno Silva, Andre Muniz, Erin Blanchfield, Ryan Hall, Tony Kelley and Gillian Robertson were all winners.

Tuivasa earned a second round knockout, Silva won by second round TKO, Muniz first round submission, Kelley second round TKO and Robertson first round submission.

UFC 269 Results

Charles Oliveira def. Dustin Poirier via submission (rear-naked choke) at 1:01 of Round 3 to remain UFC lightweight champion

Julianna Pena def. Amanda Nunes via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:26 of Round 2 to become UFC bantamweight champion

Geoff Neal def. Santiago Ponzinibbio via split decision

Kai Kara-France def. Cody Garbrandt via TKO (strikes) at 3:21 of Round 1

Sean O’Malley def. Raulian Paiva via TKO (strikes) at 4:42 of Round 1

Josh Emmett def. Dan Ige via unanimous decision

Dominick Cruz def. Pedro Munhoz via unanimous decision

Tai Tuivasa def. Augusto Sakai via KO (strike) at :26 of Round 2

Bruno Silva def. Jordan Wright via TKO (strikes) at 1:28 of Round 1

Andre Muniz def. Eryk Anders via submission (armbar) at 3:13 of Round 1

Erin Blanchfield def. Miranda Maverick via unanimous decision

Ryan Hall def. Darrick Minner via unanimous decision

Tony Kelley def. Randy Costa via TKO (strikes) at 4:15 of Round 2

Gillian Robertson def. Priscila Cachoeira via submission (rear-naked choke) at 4:59 of Round 1

Mentioned in this article:

More About: