UFC 259 Results: Jan Blachowicz, Amanda Nunes Retain Titles

Not many gave Jan Blachowicz much of a chance at UFC 259.

But the reigning UFC light heavyweight champion delivered.

Blachowicz kept Israel Adesanya from becoming a two-division titleholder, scoring a one-sided decision in the main event from the Apex in Las Vegas.

Using his size and skills, Blachowicz kept Adesanya from unleashing much of his trademark offense. He swept the three scorecards, with two ruling it 49-45 and the other 49-46. 

Reigning two-division champion Amanda Nunes had no desire to spend extra time inside the Octagon, scoring her 12th consecutive win with a finish of Megan Anderson.

Nunes defended her featherweight title by locking in a triangle armbar in two minutes to secure the win over Anderson in the co-main event.

Aljamain Sterling became the new UFC bantamweight champion when Petr Yan was disqualified for an illegal knee. Yan was in control of the bout in the fourth when he landed the strike to the head of Sterling.

As the two were grappling, the referee warned Yan but he did not listen. Instead, the champion lost his title and Sterling stated afterward that he had no desire to win it that way.

For two rounds, Islam Makhachev dominated Drew Dober before putting him away with a shoulder choke in the third. Makhachev was well up on the scorecards when he earned the finish, which pushed his record to 19-1 overall.

Light heavyweight Aleksandar Rakic kicked off the main card with a commanding decision over Thiago Santos. Rakic pushed his win streak to two, with both victories coming against former title contenders.

Rakic’s lone loss since entering the Octagon came via split decision to Volkan Oezdemir, another former world title challenger. 

To cap off the prelims, former champion Dominick Cruz turned in a strong showing, besting the game Casey Kenney.

Cruz, who has fought just twice since 2016, picked up his first win since that year with a split decision. “The Dominator” is now 23-3 in his career. 

Kyler Phillips showcased his excellent striking in holding off Song Yadong. Even though he wasn’t able to finish Yadong, Phillips swept the scorecards. 

Former title contender Joseph Benavidez was no match for Askar Askarov. Despite missing weight, Askarov dominated the three round bout, scoring a decision.

Askarov, unbeaten in his career, picked up his third UFC win and second against a former title contender. Last year, he downed Tim Elliott via decision. 

Kai Kara-France made quick work of Rogerio Bontorin, earning a first round finish. Kara-France caught Bontorin, getting the stoppage with just five seconds left. 

The 27-year-old Kara-France now owns 22 career wins with five coming inside the Octagon. 

Also check out our recap from the crazy early prelims on FightLine

UFC 259 Results

Jan Blachowicz def. Israel Adesanya via unanimous decision (49-46, 49-45, 49-45) to remain UFC light heavyweight champion

Amanda Nunes def. Megan Anderson via submission (triangle armbar) at 2:03 of Round 1 to remain UFC female featherweight champion

Aljamain Sterling def. Petr Yan via DQ (illegal knee) at 4:29 of Round 4 to become the new UFC bantamweight champion

Islam Makhachev def. Drew Dober via submission (shoulder choke) at 1:37 of Round 3

Aleksandar Rakic def. Thiago Santos via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)

Dominick Cruz def. Casey Kenney via split decision (28-29, 29-28, 30-27)

Kyler Phillips def. Song Yadong via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Askar Askarov def. Joseph Benavidez via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)

Kai Kara-France def. Rogerio Bontorin via TKO (strikes) at 4:55 of Round 1

Tim Elliott def. Jordan Espinosa via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-25)

Kennedy Nzechukwu def. Carlos Ulberg via KO (strike) at 3:19 of Round 2

Sean Brady def. Jake Matthews via submission (arm-triangle choke) at 3:28 of Round 3

Amanda Lemos def. Livia Renata Souza via TKO (strikes) at 3:39 of Round 1

Uros Medic def. Aalon Cruz via TKO (strikes) at 1:40 of Round 1

Trevin Jones def. Mario Bautista via TKO (strikes) at :47 of Round 2


  • Categories

  • Leave a Comment