Image Credit: Twitter


UFC 258 Results: Kamaru Usman Proves He Is The Best In The World

Kamaru Usman showed why he is the top welterweight competing today in MMA with a finish at UFC 258 over Gilbert Burns.

Kamaru Usman entered UFC 258 Saturday night wanting to prove himself to the world.

He did just that.

Usman dominated Gilbert Burns before finishing him in the third to remain UFC welterweight champion.

The reigning titleholder landed 94 significant strikes including over 60 to the head. He peppered Burns with his vast array of strikes to earn a third successful title defense. 

Alexa Grasso used her experience to withstand the fight of prospect Maycee Barber, scoring a decision. Grasso won all three scorecards by matching 29-28s to secure her second straight win and 13th overall.

Former Ultimate Fighter winner Kelvin Gastelum claimed a much-needed victory over Ian Heinisch. Gastelum swept all three scorecards after taking advantage of his wrestling prowess with six successful takedowns. 

In a featherweight contest, Ricky Simon controlled Brian Kelleher, sweeping the scorecards. The 28-year-old Simon earned his third consecutive win, moving his record to 17-3 overall including six wins in the UFC.

Julian Marquez kicked off the main card with an impressive submission win over Maki Pitolo. Marquez secured an anaconda choke in the third for his first win since 2017, improving to 8-2 in the process.

The prelims were highlighted by submission finishes from Anthony Hernandez and Polyana Viana.

Hernandez forced Rodolfo Vieira to tap in the second to a guillotine choke while Viana locked up an armbar on Mallory Martin in the first round.

Belal Muhammad dominated Dhiego Lima over three rounds, Chris Gutierrez downed Andre Ewell via decision and Gabriel Green topped Philip Rowe.

UFC 258: Usman vs. Burns Results

Kamaru Usman def. Gilbert Burns via TKO (strikes) at :34 of Round 3 to remain UFC welterweight champion

Alexa Grasso def. Maycee Barber via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Kelvin Gastelum def. Ian Heinisch via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Ricky Simon def. Brian Kelleher via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Julian Marquez def. Maki Pitolo via submission (anaconda choke) at 4:17 of Round 3

Anthony Hernandez def. Rodolfo Vieira via submission (guillotine choke) at 1:53 of Round 2

Belal Muhammad def. Dhiego Lima via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Polyana Viana def. Mallory Martin via submission (armbar) at 3:18 of Round 1

Chris Gutierrez def. Andre Ewell via unanimous decision (30-26, 29-28, 29-27)

Gabriel Green def. Philip Rowe via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

  • Categories

  • Leave a Comment