UFC Vegas 17 Results: Stephen Thompson Secures Final Win Of 2020

For the final time in 2020, fighters graced the Octagon as UFC Vegas 17 took place from the UFC Apex in Las Vegas, airing on ESPN+.

The final event of 2020 took place Saturday night for the UFC, as UFC Vegas 17 went down from Las Vegas.

Airing live on both ESPN+ and ESPN throughout the evening, the card battled several issues throughout the build-up. 

Stephen Thompson and Geoff Neal made sure to give the fight fans everything they have come to enjoy, going the full five rounds and 25 minutes. When it was all said and done in the final bout of the year, “Wonderboy” was declared the winner via decision.

Former UFC champion Jose Aldo made sure to let everyone know that there is still something left in the tank, besting Marlon Vera over three rounds. Aldo used his exceptional striking and grappling to control Vera, sweeping the scorecards. 

In a welterweight battle, Michel Pereira was able to get past Khaos Williams, earning the decision. For Pereira, it makes the second consecutive win, improving his overall record to 25-11. 

After taking everything Marlon Moraes had to offer early in the first, Rob Font stormed back. Font dropped Moraes, securing the first round finish.

Marcin Tybura and Greg Hardy kicked off the main card as Tybura earned a second round TKO. The heavyweight was able to handle Hardy in the second, using his experience and wrestling to his advantage. 

In the main event on the prelims, former UFC lightweight champion Anthony Pettis scored a much-needed decision over Alex Morono. Pettis was able to control the fight, sweeping the three scorecards.

Pannie Kianzad bested Sijara Eubanks in a key female bantamweight battle with Deron Winn, Taila Santos, Tafon Nchukwi, Jimmy Flick and Christos Giagos also picking up wins.

UFC Vegas 17 Results

Stephen Thompson def. Geoff Neal via unanimous decision (50-45, 50-45, 50-45)

Jose Aldo def. Marlon Vera via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Michel Pereira def. Khaos Williams via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Rob Font def. Marlon Moraes via TKO (strikes) at 3:47 of Round 1

Marcin Tybura def. Greg Hardy via TKO (strikes) at 4:31 of Round 2

Anthony Pettis def. Alex Morono via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Pannie Kianzad def. Sijara Eubanks via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Deron Winn def. Antonio Arroyo via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Taila Santos def. Gillian Robertson via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 29-28)

Tafon Nchukwi def. Jamie Pickett via unanimous decision (30-25, 30-26, 30-26)

Jimmy Flik def. Cody Durden via submission (flying triangle choke) at 3:18 of Round 1

Christos Giagos def. Carlton Minus via unanimous decision (30-26, 29-27, 29-28)

  • Categories

  • Leave a Comment