Image Credit: UFC / Twitter


UFC 251: Usman Vs. Masvidal Quick Results, Ongoing Blog

Welcome to our live coverage of UFC 251 from Fight Island in Abu Dhabi. The card features a trio of championship matches in all.

Welcome to UFC 251 and the first event from Fight Island.

Tonight’s card features three title fights headlined by Kamaru Usman defending his welterweight crown against top contender Jorge Masvidal.

The fighters, corners and other personnel have all been in Abu Dhabi on Yas Island for several days. Tests have been conducted to keep everyone safe from the coronavirus, and now, we are ready for fight night.

Along with Usman defending against Masvidal, Alexander Volkanovski puts his featherweight belt on the line vs. former champion Max Holloway. Volkanovski won the belt from Holloway via split decision.

In the third title fight, Petr Yan and former champion Jose Aldo collide for the vacant bantamweight belt. 

The pay-per-view main card is rounded out by Jessica Andrade and Rose Namajunas colliding in a rematch along with Amanda Ribas taking on Paige VanZant.

On the ESPN, ESPN+ and UFC Fight Pass Prelims, light heavyweights Volkan Oezdemir and Jiri Prochazka headline the events. 

Seven other fights are set to take place.

We will be providing an ongoing blog of the event along with quick results, which you can find below. The blog coverage begins on the next page.

UFC 251: Usman Vs. Masvidal Quick Results

Kamaru Usman def. Jorge Masvidal via unanimous decision (50-45, 50-45, 49-46) to remain UFC welterweight champion

Alexander Volkanovski def. Max Holloway via split decision (48-47, 47-48, 48-47) to remain UFC featherweight champion

Petr Yan def. Jose Aldo via TKO (strikes) at 3:24 of Round 5 to become the new UFC bantamweight champion

Rose Namajunas def. Jessica Andrade via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Amanda Ribas def. Paige VanZant via submission (armbar) at 2:21 of Round 1

Jiri Prochazka def. Volkan Oezdemir via KO (strike) at :49 of Round 2

Muslim Salikhov def. Elizeu Zaleski dos Santos via split decision (30-27, 28-29, 29-28)

Makwan Amirkhani def. Danny Henry via submission (anaconda choke) at 3:15 of Round 1

Leonardo Santos def. Roman Bogatov via unanimous decision (29-26, 29-26, 29-26)

Marcin Tybura def. Maxim Grishin via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)

Raulian Paiva def. Zhalgas Zhumagulov via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Karol Rosa def. Vanessa Melo via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-27)

Davey Grant def. Martin Day via KO (strike) at 2:38 of Round 3

  • Categories

  • Leave a Comment