Henry Cejudo

Something of a dream match is in store for the UFC 249 co-main event as former champion Dominick Cruz challenges Henry Cejudo for his bantamweight belt.

The card takes place Saturday night from the VyStar Veterans Memorial Arena in Jacksonville, Florida, airing live on ESPN+ pay-per-view.

Cejudo and Cruz serves as the co-headline bout to Tony Ferguson and Justin Gaethje meeting for the interim UFC lightweight title.

Henry Cejudo

The reigning UFC bantamweight champion, Henry Cejudo vacated his flyweight title to focus on being the king in this division.

Cejudo, a former U.S. Olympic gold medalist, has reeled off five consecutive wins since a loss to Joseph Benavidez. During that stretch, he has bested Demetrious Johnson and T.J. Dillashaw to cement his status as a pound-for-pound great.

Back in June, Cejudo claimed the bantamweight belt by stopping Marlon Moraes. This will be his first title defense.


Dominick Cruz

Before there was Cejudo, Dominick Cruz was considered one of the best to ever hold the bantamweight belt.

Cruz, who entered the UFC after a run as WEC champion, never lost his title during his first run. Injuries forced him to he sidelines and he was unable to return for an extended period.

After not competing for two years, Cruz returned in 2016 and won the title from T.J. Dillashaw, earning a defense over long-time rival Urijah Faber later that year.

Cruz lost for just the second time in 24 bouts when he fell to Cody Garbrandt, and has not competed since that UFC 207 bout in December 2016.


UFC 249 Fight Card

MAIN CARD (ESPN+ Pay-Per-View)

Interim UFC Lightweight Championship
Tony Ferguson vs. Justin Gaethje

UFC Bantamweight Championship
Henry Cejudo (c) vs. Dominick Cruz

Heavyweight: Francis Ngannou vs. Jairzinho Rozenstruik

Featherweight: Jeremy Stephens vs. Calvin Kattar

Heavyweight: Greg Hardy vs. Yorgan de Castro


Welterweight: Donald Cerrone vs. Anthony Pettis

Heavyweight: Alexey Oleinik vs. Fabricio Werdum

Strawweight: Carla Esparza vs. Michelle Waterson

Middleweight: Uriah Hall vs. Ronaldo “Jacare” Souza


Welterweight: Vicente Luque vs. Niko Price

Featherweight: Bryce Mitchell vs. Charles Rosa

Light Heavyweight: Ryan Spann vs. Sam Alvey

Mentioned in this article:

More About: