Bellator 236: Ilima-Lei Macfarlane Delights Hawaiian Faithful

The card also featured A.J. McKee advancing to the Bellator Featherweight World Grand Prix semifinals with a submission win.

Once again, it was the Ilima-Lei Macfarlane show, as the reigning Bellator champion successfully defended her title in the main event of Bellator 236.

Competing in her home state of Hawaii, Macfarlane walked out with the flyweight title still around her waist by besting Kate Jackson. The event streamed live on DAZN.

The 29-year-old Macfarlane is now 11-0 in her career with four title defenses. She is 10-0 with Bellator.

In the co-main event, A.J. McKee remained unbeaten and advanced to the semifinals of the Bellator Featherweight World Grand Prix with a submission win over Derek Campos.

The 24-year-old McKee, who has spent his entire pro career in Bellator, improved to 16-0 with 11 finishes during his run. He scored a victory over Georgi Karakhanyan via first round knockout in eight seconds in the opener round earlier this year.

McKee awaits the winner between Adam Borics and Darrion Caldwell, who meet in 2020. The other side of the bracket features champion Patricio “Pitbull” Freire vs. Pedro Carvalho and Emmanuel Sanchez vs. Daniel Weichel.

Jason Jackson picked up a decision over Kiichi Kunimoto, Juliana Velasquez topped Bruna Ellen, Raufeon Stotts defeated Cheyden Leialoha and Zachary Zane bested Nainoa Dung to complete the main card.

Prelim winners included Swayne Lunasco, Benjamin Wilhelm, Dustin Barca, Kai Kamaka III and Keoni Diggs.

Bellator 236 was the second of a two-night event in Hawaii that started Friday night with Bellator Salute to the Troops. That card, though, lost its planned main event between Josh Barnett and Ronny Markes when Barnett was deemed unfit to compete.

Bellator 236: Macfarlane Vs. Jackson Results

Ilima-Lei Macfarlane def. Kate Jackson via unanimous decision (50-45, 50-44, 50-44) to remain Bellator female flyweight champion

A.J. McKee def. Derek Campos via submission (armbar) at 1:08 of Round 3 to advance in the Bellator Featherweight World Grand Prix

Jason Jackson def. Kiichi Kunimoto via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Juliana Velasquez def. Bruna Ellen via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)

Raufeon Stotts def. Cheyden Leialoha via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 29-28)

Zachary Zane def. Nainoa Dung via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Swayne Lunasco def. Kaylan Gorospe via TKO (strikes) at 3:29 of Round 3

Benjamin Wilhelm def. Keali’l Kanekoa via submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:24 of Round 1

Dustin Barca def. Brandon Pieper via submission (rear-naked choke) at :58 of Round 1

Kai Kamaka III def. Spencer Higa via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Keoni Diggs def. Scotty Hao via technical submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:23 of Round 2

  • Categories

  • Leave a Comment