UFC Fight Night 162

Demian Maia picked up a submission victory over Ben Askren in the main event of UFC Fight Night 162, locking up a third round rear-naked choke.

The event aired live on ESPN+ from Singapore.

Maia, a former UFC welterweight title contender, earned his 22nd career victory inside the Octagon. That ranks second-most in the history of the promotion.

Demian Maia Post-Fight Interview

Askren, meanwhile, a former Bellator and ONE welterweight champion, fell to just 1-2 in the UFC. He was knocked out earlier this year by Jorge Masvidal.

Stevie Ray and Beneil Dariush picked up wins in the lightweight division. Ray earned a majority decision over Michael Johnson and Dariuh submitted Frank Camacho.

Stevie Ray Post-Fight Interview

Ciryl Gane locked in a heel hook on Don’tale Mayes and Muslim Salikhov topped Laureano Staropoli.

Randa Markos, Sergei Pavlovich and Loma Lookboonmee were among the prelim winners.

The “Fight of the Night” went to Maia and Askren, with Dariush and Gane earning “Performance of the Night” bonuses. All four fighters received an additional $50,000.

The next UFC card will be next Saturday when the promotion heads to New York City and Madison Square Garden for UFC 244 featuring Nate Diaz vs. Jorge Masvidal in the main event. Diaz has been cleared of any issues with his drug testing.

UFC Fight Night 162: Maia Vs. Askren Results

Demian Maia def. Ben Askren via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:54 of Round 3

Stevie Ray def. Michael Johnson via majority decision (29-28, 29-28, 28-28)

Beneil Dariush def. Frank Camacho via submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:02 of Round 1

Ciryl Gane def. Don’tale Mayes via submission (heel hook) at 4:46 of Round 3

Muslim Salikhov def. Laureano Staropoli via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 29-28)

Randa Markos def. Ashley Yoder via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Rafael Fiziev df. Alex White via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)

Movsar Evloev def. Enrique Barzola via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)

Sergei Pavlovich def. Maurice Greene via TKO (strikes) at 2:11 of Round 1

Loma Lookboonmee def. Aleksandra Albu via split decision (30-27, 28-29, 30-27)

Raphael Pessoa Nunes def. Jeff Hughes via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Mentioned in this article:

More About: