UFC 242

Khabib Nurmagomedov improved to 28-0 in his career and unified the UFC lightweight title Saturday with a third round submission of Dustin Poirier at UFC 242.

The event took place in Abu Dhabi from a custom-build arena. Temperatures exceeded 110 degrees throughout the event.

Nurmagomedov, who last four in 2018 with a submission of Conor McGregor, locked in a rear-naked choke early in the third to end the night of Poirier. “The Diamond” had claimed the interim title when he topped Max Holloway, the reigning UFC featherweight champion, earlier this year. Related: Khabib Honored With Special Bobblehead

UFC 242: Khabib Nurmagomedov Moves To 28-0

Paul Felder picked up a key win in the co-main event, as the lightweight downed Edson Barboza via split decision. The result showed interesting scores, as one judge awarded it to Barboza, 30-27, with another giving all three rounds to Felder in convincing fashion.

Islam Makhachev earned a decision over Davi Ramos in another lightweight affair on the main card, with Curtis Blaydes finishing Shamil Abdurakhimov with an elbow and strikes at heavyweight in the second round.

Carlos Diego Ferreira opened the main card with a decision vs. Mairbek Taisumov.

UFC 242 Prelims Highlighted By Joanne Calderwood

In the prelim main event, Joanne Calderwood claimed a split decision over Andrea Lee. The win was a key one in the women’s flyweight division, as Lee was unbeaten since coming to the UFC.

Zubaira Tukhugov and Lerone Murphy battled to a split draw with Sarah Moraes finishing Liana Jojua and Ottman Azaitar knocking out Teemu Packalen in the first.

Belal Muhammad, Muslim Salikhov, Omari Akhmedov and Don Madge were all winners on the UFC Fight Pass prelims. Muhammad submitted Takashi Sato and Salikhov knocked out Nordine Taleb in the first round.

Related: What Will Be Khabib’s Legacy?

UFC 242: Khabib Vs. Poirier Results

Khabib Nurmagomedov def. Dustin Poirier via submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:06 of Round 3 to become undisputed UFC lightweight champion

Paul Felder def. Edson Barboza via split decision (27-30, 29-28, 30-27)

Islam Makhachev def. Davi Ramos via unanimous decision (29-27, 30-26, 30-26)

Curtis Blaydes def. Shamil Abdurakhimov via TKO (strikes) at 2:22 of Round 2

Carlos Diego Ferreira def. Mairbek Taisumov via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-27, 29-27)

Joanne Calderwood def. Andrea Lee via split decision (28-29, 30-27, 29-28)

Zubaira Tukhugov vs. Lerone Murphy declared a split draw (28-29, 29-28, 28-28)

Sarah Moras def. Liana Jojua via TKO (strikes) at 2:26 of Round 3

Ottman Azaitar def. Teemu Packalen via KO (strike) at 3:33 of Round 1

Belal Muhammad def. Takashi Sato via submission (rear-naked choke) at 1:55 of Round 3

Muslim Salikhov def. Nordine Taleb via KO (strike) at 4:26 of Round 1

Omari Akhmedov def. Zak Cummings via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)

Don Madge def. Fares Ziam via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)

Mentioned in this article:

More About: