Cris Cyborg

Cris “Cyborg” returned to the win column at UFC 240, following her loss to Amanda Nunes in December, but the former featherweight champ had to deal with a very game, Felicia Spencer.

“Cyborg” came out winging shots and defended a takedown attempt early. Spencer, however, cut “Cyborg” open with a nicely timed elbow and clinched up.  Spencer was unable to secure the TD and ate a punch from the former featherweight champ. “Cyborg” continued to pick away with kicks and she also planted a hard right. Spencer scored with another elbow but “Cyborg” pressured forward and fired back. Spencer clinched up and the round ended as the two battled along the cage.

“Cyborg” threatened with a kick moments into round two but Spencer clinched up. The latter fired off up elbows from the clinch, and continued to push “Cyborg” against the cage. The action went to the ground, however, and “Cyborg” scored with some punches from above. Spencer started looking for an omoplata but “Cyborg” let her back up. The action stalled somewhat, and then “Cyborg” planted a hard right hook. Moments later “Cyborg” scored with another right.

Spencer came out pressuring in round three but “Cyborg” countered well. Spencer looked to the close distance but “Cyborg” pished her back with strikes. Spencer grazed “Cyborg” with a counter headkick but the former champ seemed unfazed. Spencer managed to clinch up but “Cyborg” punished her with hard knees to the body and then a cracking right. “Cyborg” flurried in moments later but Spencer continued to move forward. In the final moments, “Cyborg” scored with a couple more, heavy shots.

After the bout, all three judges awarded “Cyborg” the unanimous decision win. Here are the results so far for UFC 240, which is taking place in Edmonton, Alberta.

Cris “Cyborg” def. Felicia Spencer via unanimous (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Geoff Neal def. Niko Price via TKO (punches) R2, 2:39
Arman Tsarukyan def. Olivier Aubin-Mercier via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Krzysztof Jotko def. Marc-Andre Barriault via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Viviane Araujo def. Alexis Davis via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Hakeem Dawodu def. Yoshinori Horie via TKO (head kick) R3, 4:09
Gavin Tucker def. Seungwoo Choi via submission (rear-naked-choke) R3, 3:17
Deiveson Figueiredo def. Alexandre Pantoja via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Gillian Robertson def. Sarah Frota via TKO (strikes) R2, 4:13
Erik Koch def. Kyle Stewart via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Mentioned in this article:

More About: