Everyone and their dog predicted that Mike Perry and Alex Oliveira would go to war tonight at UFC Fort Lauderdale, and that was indeed, the case.

Oliveira came with kicks right out of the gate but Perry pressed forward. A couple of minutes in, Oliveira almost took Perry to the floor off the clinch. At the three minute mark, Oliveira scored with a nice combo but Perry countered with a hard elbow moments later. Oliveira appeared to be the busier of the two for the remainder of the frame. But, right before the opening round ended with a bloodied Perry flurrying in.

Perry cracked Oliveira with a booming hook not long into round two, but Oliveira recovered and resumed his attacks. Moments later, Perry tossed Oliveira to the mat with a highlight reel slam, but didn’t follow up and the fight resumed standing. A grinning Oliveira continued to fire kicks, right before the fight spilled to the floor with less than two minutes in the round. From the top position, Perry tossed down hard punches from above. Oliveira made it back to his feet, however, it looked like he injured his foot right before the frame ended (Jon Anik confirmed in between rounds Oliveira had dislocated his toe).

Not long into round three, Perry cracked Oliveira with a hard, left uppercut. Oliveira came with a Superman punch off the cage that didn’t land. The action slowed for a little while, but then Perry planted a left hook that had Oliveira wincing. Moments later, Perry flurried in with a brutal series of punches, but Oliveira appeared to defend the shots well. Oliveira scored with a couple more calf kicks, before the final horn went.

Perry received the nod from all three judges, and in doing so, “Platinum” is back in the win column.

Mike Perry def. Alex Oliveira via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Glover Teixeira def. Ion Cutelaba via submission (rear-naked-choke) R2, 3:37
Cory Sandhagen def. John Lineker via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Roosevelt Roberts def. Thomas Gifford via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Takashi Sato def. Ben Saunders via TKO (punches & elbows) R2, 1:18
Augusto Sakai def. Andrei Arlovski via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Carla Esparza def. Virna Jandiroba via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)
Gilbert Burns def. Mike Davis via submission (rear-naked-choke) R2, 4:15
Jim Miller def. Jason Gonzalez via submission (rear-naked choke) R1, 2:12
Angela Hill def. Jodie Esquibel via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)
Dhiego Lima def. Court McGee via split decision (30-27, 28-29, 29-28)

Mentioned in this article:

More About: