Rory MacDonald’s quest to remain Bellator welterweight champion and win the grand prix survived the first round Saturday night.

MacDonald defended his title and advanced to meet Neiman Gracie after the decision was ruled a majority draw in the main event of Bellator 220. But it wasn’t easy.

The main card streamed live on DAZN from the SAP Center in San Jose, California.

As he does, Fitch used his wrestling and controlled much of the 25-minute fight vs. MacDonald. But what shots the champion did land were effective enough to move on.

The co-main event featured Ilima-Lei Macfarlane successfully defending her flyweight belt with a third round TKO victory vs. Veta Arteaga. The bout was stopped by the doctor at cageside early in the third round.

Macfarlane, a 29-year-old, improved to 10-0 with the win, with nine of those victories coming for Bellator. She has finished eight of her career opponents.

Benson Henderson, a former UFC champion, claimed a split decision over Adam Piccolotti, and in a battle of former Bellator champions, Phil Davis found a home for his striking in the third round, finishing Liam McGeary.

Kicking off the main card a winner was Gaston Bolanos, as he scored a first round knockout over Nathan Stolen. “The Dreamkiller” has now scored five finishes in six Bellator fights, going 5-1.

Some of the winners on the early prelims included Brandon Faumui, who bested Chris Avila via split decision, Matthew Perez, who scored a first round knockout over Justin Tenedora, and both Cass Bell and Chuck Campbell scored first round finishes.

Complete results from Bellator 220: MacDonald vs. Fitch can be found below:

Rory MacDonald vs. Jon Fitch declared a majority draw (48-46, 47-47, 47-47)

Ilima-Lei Macfarlane def. Veta Arteaga via TKO (doctor’s stoppage) at 1:50 of Round 3 to remain Bellator female flyweight champion

Benson Henderson def. Adam Piccolotti via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Phil Davis def. Liam McGeary via TKO (strikes) at 4:11 of Round 3

Gaston Bolanos def. Nathan Stolen via KO (strike) at 2:21 of Round 1

Abraham Vaesau def. Justin Roswell via TKO (strikes) at 1:59 of Round 1

Jordan Williams def. Diego Herzog via TKO (strikes) at 1:21 of Round 3

Josh San Diego def. Brandon Laroco via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)

Hyder Amil def. Paradise Vaovasa via submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:34 of Round 1

Chuck Campbell def. Bruno Casillas via KO (strike) at 1:46 of Round 1

Cass Bell def. Peter Ishiguro via KO (strike) at 3:00 of Round 1

Aviv Gozali def. Travis Crain via submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:15 of Round 1

Brandon Faumui def. Chris Avila via split decision (30-27, 28-29, 29-28)

Matthew Perez def. Justin Tenedora via KO (strike) at 4:52 of Round 1

Mentioned in this article:

More About: