Justin Gaethje and Edson Barboza brought their lightweight battle to Philadelphia to deliver a fight fans would remember.

And that’s exactly what they did.

Gaethje landed with a big right-hand that floored the Brazilian, earning a victory in the main event of UFC on ESPN 2 Saturday night. The two stood toe-to-toe for the entire fight, which did not get out of the first round.

The former World Series of Fighting champion has scored back-to-back first round main event victories inside the Octagon. He is 19-2 overall and 3-2 with the UFC, with all five fights ending early.

This marked just the third UFC event to take place in Philadelphia and the first since UFC 133 in August 2011. Bouts aired live from the Wells Fargo Center on ESPN and UFC Fight Pass.

Jack Hermansson locked in a guillotine choke to submit former World Series of Fighting champion David Branch in the co-main event. The win came in just 49 seconds for Hermansson, who is now 19-4 overall and on a three-fight win streak.

Josh Emmett knocked out Michael Johnson in the third round of their featherweight affair, with Michelle Waterson staking her claim to being a top contender at strawweight by besting Karolina Kowalkiewicz.

Paul Craig and Sodiq Yusuff finished off the main card with wins.

On the prelims, Marina Rodriguez, Desmond Green, Kevin Aguilar, Kevin Holland, Casey Kenney, Maryna Moroz and Alex Perez were all winners. Green finished Ross Pearson in the lone bout to not go to the scorecards.

Complete results from UFC on ESPN 2: Barboza vs. Gaethje can be found below:

Justin Gaethje def. Edson Barboza via KO (strike) at 2:30 of Round 1

Jack Hermansson def. David Branch via submission (guillotine choke) at :49 of Round 1

Josh Emmett def. Michael Johnson via KO (strike) at 4:14 of Round 3

Michelle Waterson def. Karolina Kowalkiewicz via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Paul Craig def. Kennedy Nzechukwu via submission (triangle choke) at 4:20 of Round 3

Sodiq Yusuff def. Sheymon Moraes via unanimous decision (29-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Marina Rodriguez def. Jessica Aguilar via unanimous decision (29-26, 29-27, 29-27)

Desmond Green def. Ross Pearson via TKO (strikes) at 2:52 of Round 1

Kevin Aguilar def. Enrique Barzola via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Kevin Holland def. Gerald Meerschaert via split decision (29-27, 28-29, 30-27)

Casey Kenney def. Ray Borg via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)

Maryna Moroz def. Sabina Mazo via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Alex Perez def. Mark De La Rosa via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Mentioned in this article:

More About: