- TheMix.net - https://www.themix.net -

UFC 283 Results: Jamahal Hill Becomes Newest UFC Champion

The light heavyweight division now belongs to Jamahal Hill.

Hill scored a convincing decision victory over Glover Teixeira Saturday night in the main event of UFC 283. The card took place from Brazil, airing live on ESPN+ pay-per-view.

Over five rounds and 25 minutes, Hill dominated the former champion, sweeping the scorecards and earning his first UFC title in the process.

Brandon Moreno unified the flyweight titles in the co-main event, earning a third round TKO victory over Deiveson Figueiredo. Moreno, the interim champion coming into the bout, was able to successfully navigate the champion.

The bout marked the fourth meeting between the two rivals, with all four being title fights. The first was a draw, while they split the next two with each winning once.

Gilbert Burns showed he remains a contender in the welterweight division, submitting Neil Magny in the opening round.

Jessica Andrade dominated Lauren Murphy and Johnny Walker finished Paul Craig to complete the main card.

On the televised prelims, Ihor Potieria stopped former champion Mauricio “Shogun” Rua in his retirement bout. Burnno Ferreira, Thiago Moises and Gabriel Bonfim were also winners via finish.

Jailton Almeida, Cody Stamman, Ismael Bonfim, Nicolas Dalby, Josiane Nunes and Daniel Marcos were all winners on the early prelims.

UFC 283 Results

Jamahal Hill def. Glover Teixeira via unanimous decision

Brandon Moreno def. Deiveson Figueiredo via TKO (doctor’s stoppage) at 5:00 of Round 3

Gilbert Burns def. Neil Magny via submission (arm-triangle choke) at 4:15 of Round 1

Jessica Andrade def. Lauren Murphy via unanimous decision

Johnny Walker def. Paul Craig via TKO (strikes) at 2:16 of Round 1

Ihor Potieria def. Mauricio “Shogun” Rua via TKO (strikes) at 4:05 of Round 1

Brunno Ferreira def. Gregory Rodrigues via KO (strike) at 4:13 of Round 1

Thiago Moises def. Melquizael Costa via submission (face crank) at 4:05 of Round 2

Gabriel Bonfim def. Mounir Lazzez via submission (guillotine choke) at :49 of Round 1

Jailton Almeida def. Shamil Abdurakhimov via TKO (strikes) at 2:56 of Round 2

Cody Stamman def. Luan Lacerda via unanimous decision

Ismael Bonfim def. Terrance McKinney via KO (flying knee) at 2:17 of Round 2

Nicolas Dalby def. Warlley Alves via split decision

Josiane Nunes def. Zarah Fairn dos Santos via unanimous decision

Daniel Marcos def. Saimon Oliveira via KO (strike) at 2:18 of Round 2