Image Credit: Bellator MMA

Sports

Benson Henderson Headlines Bellator’s September Dublin Return

Former UFC champion Benson Henderson will make his Bellator return this September, headlining the return to Dublin.

Benson Henderson will meet Peter Queally at Bellator Dublin this September.

Henderson, a former UFC champion, and Queally will headline the September 23 card from the 3Arena in Dublin, Ireland. The event airs live on Showtime.

Along with Henderson and Queally, Yoel Romero takes on Melvin Manhoef in a feature bout. Manhoef, a veteran of combat sports, has announced this will be the final fight in his career.

Irish star Queally will make his comeback from injury after his recent withdrawal from Bellator 275, as he looks to launch a renewed charge for the world title in front of his home crowd with a commanding victory.

Standing in his way is the formidable challenge of Henderson, who is coming off of a huge win against the highly regarded Islam Mamedov.

In addition, James Gallagher is set to make another homecoming when he takes on Welsh star Brett Johns. This will be Gallagher’s first fight since suffering heartbreak in the same arena to Patchy Mix last year at Bellator 270.

Prior to that defeat, the Irishman had enjoyed a four-fight winning streak and will be aiming to regain momentum and return to winning ways. However, he takes on a tough opponent in Johns, who earned his first win since joining Bellator after an impressive display against the previously unbeaten Khurshed Kakhorov last time round in Dublin, and he’ll be aiming to build on his strong professional record and climb into the official bantamweight rankings.

BELLATOR DUBLIN: HENDERSON VS. QUEALLY MAIN CARD:

SHOWTIME (U.S.) | BBC Three & BBC iPlayer (U.K.) | Virgin Media (IRELAND)

Friday, September 23 – 9 p.m. IST/4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT

Lightweight Main Event: #3-Benson Henderson (29-11) vs. #5-Peter Queally (13-6)

Light Heavyweight Co-Main Event: Melvin Manhoef (32-15-1) vs. #8-Yoel Romero (14-6)

Bantamweight Bout: #7-James Gallagher (11-2) vs. Brett Johns (18-3)

Featherweight Bout: Ciaran Clarke (5-0) vs. Georges Sasu (5-2)

BELLATOR DUBLIN: HENDERSON VS. QUEALLY PRELIMINARY CARD:

BELLATOR MMA YouTube channel | SHOWTIME Sports YouTube channel | Pluto TV (US)

BBC iPlayer (UK) | Virgin Media Two & Virgin Media Sport (IRELAND)

5:30 p.m. IST/12:30 p.m. ET/9:30 a.m. PT

Bantamweight Bout: Brian Moore (14-9) vs. Arivaldo Lima da Silva (19-10)

Lightweight Bout: Georgi Karakhanyan (31-13-1) vs. Kane Mousah (13-4)

  • Categories

  • Leave a Comment