Sports

Bellator Returning To Hawaii With Championship Doubleheader

Two title fights and much more have been announced for Bellator's April return to Hawaii, which features two events.

Two title fights will headline a doubleheader of Bellator action in Hawaii this April.

Sergio Pettis will defend his bantamweight belt against Raufeon Stots while Cris Cyborg puts her featherweight strap on the line as well.

Those two bouts will be part of the Saturday, April 23 Bellator 279 event. Another card will take place on Friday, April 22 with details to be announced. 

Also scheduled for a return to action, Honolulu’s own former Women’s Flyweight World Champion Ilima-Lei Macfarlane (11-1) will return home to compete against Justine Kish (7-5) as the No. 1 ranked women’s flyweight looks to start her journey back to a world title in the same arena two of the most memorable Bellator main events in recent memory took place.

Opening the four-fight main card is another Bellator Bantamweight World Grand Prix quarterfinal matchup between No. 2-ranked bantamweight Patchy Mix (15-1) and former Bellator and Rizin Bantamweight champion Kyoji Horiguchi (29-4).

BELLATOR MMA 279: Pettis vs. Stots / Cyborg vs. Blencowe 2 Main Card:

Saturday, April 23 – live on SHOWTIME

10:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. PT/4:30 p.m. HST (local)

 

Bantamweight World Title Bout: C-Sergio Pettis (22-5) vs. #3-Raufeon Stots (17-1)

Featherweight World Title Bout: C-Cris “Cyborg” (25-2, 1 NC) vs. #1-Arlene Blencowe (15-8)

Flyweight Bout: #1-Ilima-Lei Macfarlane (11-1) vs. Justine Kish (7-5)

Bantamweight World Grand Prix Bout: #2-Patchy Mix (15-1) vs. #5-Kyoji Horiguchi (29-4)

  • Categories

  • Leave a Comment