- TheMix.net - https://www.themix.net -

Conor McGregor-Dustin Poirier Finish Off UFC Fight Week In Abu Dhabi

The first UFC Pay-Per-View of 2021 will feature a thrilling lightweight contenders’ bout that will see No. 2 ranked Dustin Poirier [1] look to even the score with No. 4 Conor McGregor [2]. In the co-main event, No. 6 ranked lightweight contender Dan Hooker [3] looks to spoil the highly anticipated debut of Michael Chandler [4].

UFC® 257: POIRIER vs. MCGREGOR 2 will take place Saturday, January 23 at Etihad Arena on Abu Dhabi’s Yas Island and will stream live on Pay-Per-View, exclusively on ESPN+ in the U.S. at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT in both English and Spanish.

Preliminary fights will air nationally in English on ESPN and in Spanish on ESPN Deportes, as well as be simulcast in both languages on ESPN+ starting at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT. Early prelims will be available on UFC Fight Pass and ESPN+ (in English and Spanish) at 6:15 p.m. ET/3:15 p.m. PT. The event is in partnership with the Department of Culture and Tourism – Abu Dhabi.

Former interim lightweight champion Poirier (26-6, fighting out of Coconut Creek, Fla.) looks to continue his momentum following his thrilling victory against Dan Hooker. Throughout his decorated career, Poirier has also secured impressive victories over Max Holloway (twice), Anthony Pettis and Justin Gaethje. Poirier now aims to make the most of his 25th UFC appearance by taking out one of the biggest names in MMA history.

 

A former two-division UFC champion, McGregor (22-4, fighting out of Dublin, Ireland) returns to action for the first time since his spectacular KO win against Donald Cerrone one year ago. As charismatic as he is skilled in the Octagon, McGregor has delivered iconic KO victories over Eddie Alvarez, Jose Aldo and Chad Mendes. McGregor now has his sights on once again stopping Poirier to stake his claim for another lightweight title shot.

Hooker (20-9, fighting out of Auckland, New Zealand) has proven himself to be among the most dangerous finishers in the lightweight division. During his run in the UFC 155-pound division, he has stopped Gilbert Burns, Jim Miller and James Vick in emphatic fashion. He has also netted impressive wins over contenders Paul Felder and Al Iaquinta. Hooker now hopes to kick off 2021 with another vintage performance by derailing Chandler to re-assert himself in the title picture.

Chandler (21-5, fighting out of Boca Raton, Fla.) looks to make an immediate impact in his UFC debut by stopping Hooker to send a message to the lightweight division. A three-time champion outside the UFC, he has delivered memorable victories over Benson Henderson (twice), Eddie Alvarez and Patricky Freire (twice). Chandler now aims to take advantage of his biggest spotlight yet by staking his claim as the next UFC title challenger.

Additional bouts on the card include