- TheMix.net - https://www.themix.net -

UFC In The 2010s: Looking Back At Light Heavyweight Division

The UFC’s [1] light heavyweight division has been dominated by one man: Jon Jones [2].

And when Jones has not been atop the weight class, it has pretty much been because of his own un-doing outside of the Octagon.

Jones, of course, has had troubles with the law, being stripped of the belt numerous times already. And he could be facing another after a recent run-in that involved a gun, drinking and more.

It’s been troubling times for “Bones,” but he has been the dominant force in the division for the past 10 years.

Make sure to check out FightLine at The Mix [3] for recaps from the other divisions. 

Jon Jones

Currently, Jon Jones continues to hold the UFC light heavyweight. However, he could be stripped once more after his run-in with New Mexico law enforcement.

The first official title run for Jones started in 2011 when he finished Mauricio “Shogun” Rua at UFC 128 on March 19. We all remember that because Jones stepped in for Rashad Evans, who was the No. 1 contender but injured.

During that title run, Jones earned eight title defenses. He defeated former champions Quinton “Rampage” Jackson, Lyoto Machida, Evans and Vitor Belfort.

Also, Jones topped Chael Sonnen, Alexander Gustafsson and Cormier.

Jones reclaimed the belt when he topped Ovince Saint Preux on April 23, 2016 at UFC 197 in Las Vegas.

The current reign for Jones started at UFC 232 on December 29, 2018 when he downed Gustafsson for a second time. He has since earned defenses over Anthony Smith, Thiago Santos and Dominick Reyes.

Daniel Cormier

The only other man to hold the title in this decade was Daniel Cormier. Back at UFC 187 on May 23, 2015, Cormier bested Anthony Johnson for the title.

The belt had been held up and vacated after Jon Jones’ felony hit-and-run in 2015.

Cormier would earn three title defenses, topping Alexander Gustafsson, Johnson in a rematch and Volkan Oezdemir. He would later vacate the belt after winning the heavyweight championship.