UFC 231 Results: Max Holloway Cements Claim As Best Featherweight

For the better part of four rounds Saturday night, Max Holloway picked Brian Ortega apart.

After 20 minutes of action, the doctor at Octagon-side had seen enough, calling a stop to the main event of UFC 231 inside the Scotiabank Arena in Toronto.

Holloway retained his featherweight title, pushing his current win streak to 13 in a row dating back to a decision loss in 2013 to Conor McGregor. “Blessed” has twice bested Jose Aldo and now Ortega since becoming the champion at 145 pounds.

The loss was the first in the career of “T-City,” who waited on the sidelines for Holloway to recover from concussion-like symptoms that postponed the planned first meeting between the two.

Valentina Shevchenko finally became a champion in the UFC, as she dominated former strawweight titleholder Joanna Jedrzejczyk to become the new flyweight champion.

Shevchenko, a former bantamweight title challenger, would not be denied, claiming all three scorecards 49-46. The 30-year-old Shevchenko had been denied in 2017 by Amanda Nunes for gold, dropping a split decision.

For Jedrzejczyk, the setback was her third consecutive title-fight loss, as Rose Namajunas won the strawweight belt from her in 2017 and defended it earlier this year.

Hakeem Dawodu earned a split decision over Kyle Bochniak and Gunnar Nelson rallied for a second round submission vs. Alex Oliveira.

Thiago Santos opened up the main card in thrilling fashion, knocking out Jimi Manuwa. The stoppage came less than a minute into the second round, as Santos secured his third consecutive win.

The ladies stole the show on the FOX Sports 1 prelims, as both Nina Ansaroff and Jessica Eye positioned themselves as future title contenders in their respective divisions.

Ansaroff picked up her fourth consecutive victory, earning a decision over former strawweight title challenger Claudia Gadelha in the featured attraction. Eye, meanwhile, claimed a split decision over Katlyn Chookagian in the flyweight ranks.

Gilbert Burns secured himself a victory, besting Olivier Aubin-Mercier, with Elias Theodorou topping Eryk Anders via split decision.

A full lineup of UFC Fight Pass prelims featured three finishes, as Dhiego Lima knocked out Chad Laprise, Carlos Diego Ferreira stopped Kyle Nelson in the second and Aleksandar Rakic finished off Devin Clark in the first.

In the “main event,” Brad Katona scored a decision over Matthew Lopez, sweeping all three scorecards.

Holloway was a double-bonus winner, as he shared “Fight of the Night” with Ortega and also claimed a “Performance of the Night” award. The other performance bonus went to Santos.

Officials announced the attendance at a UFC record for the arena at 19,039 with a live gate of just under $2.5 million.

UFC 231: Holloway vs. Ortega Results

Max Holloway def. Brian Ortega via TKO (doctor stoppage) at 5:00 of Round 4 to remain UFC featherweight champion

Valentina Shevchenko def. Joanna Jedrzejczyk via unanimous decision (49-46, 49-46, 49-46) to become UFC female flyweight champion

Gunnar Nelson def. Alex Oliveira via submission (rear-naked choke) at 4:17 of Round 2

Hakeem Dawodu def. Kyle Bochniak via split decision (28-29, 30-27, 30-27)

Thiago Santos def. Jimi Manuwa via KO (strike) at :41 of Round 2

Nina Ansaroff def. Claudia Gadelha via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Gilbert Burns def. Olivier Aubin-Mercier via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)

Jessica Eye def. Katlyn Chookagian via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Elias Theodorou def. Eryk Anders via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Brad Katona def. Matthew Lopez via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Dhiego Lima def. Chad Laprise via KO (strike) at 1:37 of Round 1

Carlos Diego Ferreira def. Kyle Nelson via TKO (strikes) at 1:23 of Round 2

Aleksandar Rakic def. Devin Clark via TKO (strikes) at 4:05 of Round 1

Leave a Comment