Bellator 208 Results: Fedor Emelianenko Powers Through Chael Sonnen

Fedor Emelianenko moved one step closer to becoming a champion again, finishing Chael Sonnen in the main event of Bellator 208 Saturday night.

Emelianenko advances to the finals of the Bellator Heavyweight Grand Prix where he will meet Ryan Bader for the title in 2019. Bader moved on Friday night with a win over Matt Mitrione.

In a battle of veterans of the sport, Fedor overpowered Sonnen in scoring his second consecutive first round finish. He also defeated former UFC champion Frank Mir in April in the opening round of the GP.

Emelianenko last held a title in 2009 when he defended the WAMMA heavyweight belt with a first round knockout of Andrei Arlovski. He also held the Pride title during his career.

In the co-main event, former UFC lightweight champion Benson Henderson earned a dominating decision over Saad Awad, with Cheick Kongo scoring himself a 68-second finish of Timothy Johnson.

Anatoly Tokov bested former Bellator champion Alexander Shlemenko via decision and Henry Corrales kicked off the Paramount Network main card from the Nassau Coliseum in Uniondale, New York by knocking out Andy Main.

Bellator is now on a hiatus until November 15 when they travel to Israel for Bellator 209 with Patricio “Pitbull” Freire defending his featherweight title against Emmanuel Sanchez.

Bellator 208: Fedor vs. Sonnen Results

Fedor Emelianenko def. Chael Sonnen via TKO (strikes) at 4:46 of Round 1

Benson Henderson def. Saad Awad via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-26, 30-26)

Cheick Kongo def. Timothy Johnson via KO (strike) at 1:08 of Round 1

Anatoly Tokov def. Alexander Shlemenko via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Henry Corrales def. Andy Main via KO (strike) at 2:08 of Round 3

Jeremy Puglia def. Eric Olsen via TKO (strikes) at 3:16 of Round 1

Dennis Buzukia def. Ryan Castro via KO (strike) at 2:53 of Round 1

Andrews Rodriguez def. Mike DiOrio via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Zarrukh Adashev def. Christian Medina via TKO (strikes) at 1:08 of Round 1

Jennifer Chieng def. Jessica Ruiz via TKO (strikes) at 1:22 of Round 1

David Meshkhoradze def. Shaquan Moore via split decision (30-27, 28-29, 30-27)

Tommy Espinosa def. Suhrob Aidarbekov via submission (armbar) at 1:27 of Round 1

Nick Fiore def. Jerome Mickle via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Leave a Comment